Skip to main content
Virginia City Grand Prix

Virginia City Grand Prix


Year Started: 1971

The Virginia City Grand Prix (VCGP) was first run in 1971, founded by the Western States Racing Association (WSRA) as an American Motorcyclist Association (AMA) event.

Held in the historic mining town of Virginia City, Nevada, the race quickly gained popularity for its challenging course and unique setting among the pinion pines and historic remnants of one of the largest silver deposits ever discovered. 

For 30 years WSRA hosted the event and welcomed many legendary competitors, including Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame inductee Larry Roeseler, who has the most overall wins in the event's history.

In 2000, WSRA hosted its 30th and final VCGP, complete with "RIP" tombstone-shaped finishers awards to mark the end of their run.

In 2001, the tourism and special event-driven town quickly felt the loss of a major annual event and in 2002 the Virginia City Motorcycle Club was formed to bring motorcycle racing back to Virginia City and the Comstock.

For three years the VCGP was sanctioned as part of the Motorcycle Racing Association of Northern Nevada (MRANN).

The event has since continued successfully without being affiliated with any sanctioning race organization.

All-Time Overall Virginia City Grand Prix Champions:

1 Larry Roeseler (7) 1977, 1985, 1987, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1991

2 Ross Neely (5) 2008, 2010, 2011, 2013, 2018

3 Ty Davis (4) 1994, 1996, 1998, 1999

4 Shane Esposito (3) 2000, 2002, 2003

Submitted by: Barbara Rainey
Created: April 04, 2022