Skip to main content
Meet the ORMHOF Class of 2023:  Jeff Cummings

Meet the ORMHOF Class of 2023: Jeff Cummings

Jeff Cummings – Industry Pioneer

“Jeff personifies the spirit and character of what the Hall of Fame stands for.” – Harold Phillips, Global General Manager, BFGoodrich Tires.

Jeff started his career with BFGoodrich Tires in 1979. For 43 years, he lived and breathed his #DirtyTiresHappyTires hashtag with the BFGoodrich brand.  ORMHOF inductee and board member Frank DeAngelo said, “Jeff Cummings has been heavily involved in the industry since 1979 behind the scenes and has made BFGoodrich Tires the brand it’s known for today.”

One of the many groups of BFGoodrich Tires guests Jeff Cummings (leaning on hood of vehicle on right) has introduced to his #dirtytireshappytires lifestyle over the years.

From 1979 to 1991 Jeff was a Performance Tire Manager for BFG, working enthusiast events and shows, providing motorsports support, and implementing new product introductions.  In 1991 he transitioned to Regional Performance Tire Manager. In addition to his original duties, Jeff helped in the development of the Rod Hall Driving School and helped manage the BFG off-road racing programs. He helped with racecourse mapping and chase access, the BFG map books, and running support pits. Jeff established the BFG brand in rock crawling competitions, sweeping four series for three consecutive years, and led the way for BFG’s involvement in grassroots racing.

In 2003 Jeff earned a new title: Fun With Tires Manager (FWTM).  He managed and conducted driving schools and led off-road adventures in Baja and the United States to showcase product performance in extreme conditions to customers, including over 250 tire dealers each year. 

Jeff Cummings (third from right, front row) celebrates another Baja win with the BFGoodrich team at the 50th Anniversary SCORE Baja 1000.

“Jeff’s passion, knowledge, and Impact on all aspects of off-road are second to none. He’s sort of the guy behind the curtain, so I feel like often he doesn’t get the recognition that he deserves,” said ORMHOF Class of 2022 inductee Lance Clifford. “Jeff is not only a big part of BFGoodrich’s off-road history, but he is also an integral part of off-roading’s history.”

Jeff retired in 2022.  ORMHOF inductee Brad Lovell said, “I believe Jeff will find a way to continue to give back to the off-road community and bring new people in.”

About the Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame

The Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame was established in 1978 by racing promoter and NORRA founder Ed Pearlman to recognize and honor those individuals and organizations whose lifelong contributions to off-road motorsports have set a standard for others to follow. In 1995, legendary off-road racer Rod Hall became ORMHOF chairman, a position he held for more than twenty years, before selecting current chairman Mark McMillin as his successor.

The mission of the Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame is to educate and inspire present and future generations of the off-road community by celebrating the achievements of those who came before.  Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame inductees represent excellence and achievement in many areas of off-road, including advocacy, journalism, industry, rock sports, desert racing, short course, and rally.  

ORMHOF maintains a collection of vintage off-road vehicles that are displayed at museums around the country, as well as an extensive online archive of print, images, and videos, with more content added as funds become available.  The Hall of Fame Off-Road Registry invites clubs, organizations, events, businesses, and individuals with fifty years or more of history in off-road to apply for Hall of Fame heritage status in the official archives of the Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame. 

The Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame is funded through donations, individual memberships, and industry partners. A 501c non-profit organization, ORMHOF has earned a GuideStar Non-Profit Gold Seal of Transparency for 2023.

ORMHOF is guided by an all-volunteer board of leaders in the off-road community, including chairman Mark McMillin and board members Frank ‘Butch’ Arciero Jr, Dave Cole, Frank DeAngelo, Bud Feldkamp, Jeff Furrier, Bob Ham, Josh Hall, Gary Haugley, Rich Klein, Rafael Navarro III, Fardad Niknam, Bonnie Vessels, and Rory Ward.

Links to 2023 Gala tickets, discounted room rates, and Gala sponsorship opportunities are available on the 2023 Ceremony tab. We invite you to browse the ORMHOF online collections of print, images, and video, and to learn more about how to join, partner, or donate. Legends live at