Skip to main content
ORMHOF Welcomes Riviera Racing as Presenting Sponsor of 2023 Louis Unser Never Give Up Award

ORMHOF Welcomes Riviera Racing as Presenting Sponsor of 2023 Louis Unser Never Give Up Award

Riviera Racing returns as presenting sponsor of the 2023 Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame Louis Unser Never Give Up Award. 


Riviera Racing is one of the legendary teams in off-road racing, highlighted by one of the most recognizable off-road trucks in history, the famous Black Diamond, and one of the sport's most colorful and enthusiastic participants, driver Mark Post. 

The Black Diamond of Riviera Racing. Photo credit: Race-Dezert.

Mark, along with co-drivers Carl Renezeder and Rob MacCachren, teamed up in the Black Diamond to win one of the longest Baja 1000 races to date, 1,296 miles from Ensenada to Cabo San Lucas, in 2007, finishing in a remarkable 25 hours and 12 minutes. 

Riviera Racing and Mark Post continue to race the Black Diamond in events like the NORRA Mexican 1000.


Recipients of the Louis Unser Never Give Up Award demonstrate a pursuit of excellence in the face of adversity.  Louis Unser relentlessly fought through health issues to persevere in his passion for engine building. Like Louis, these individuals exemplify a "Never Give Up" attitude in their off-road career, possessing a relentless attitude, indomitable spirit, and perseverance.

2022 Never Give Up Award Recipient George Hammel, center.

The 2023 recipient will be announced in August and presented with the Louis Unser Never Give Up Award at the Hall of Fame 2023 Induction & Awards Gala on Saturday, September 9 at the South Point in Las Vegas.  Tickets are now on sale. Visit the Ceremony page for more information.

Previous recipients of the Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame Louis Unser Never Give Up Award


The Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame was established in 1978 by racing promoter and NORRA founder Ed Pearlman to recognize and honor those individuals and organizations whose lifelong contributions to off-road motorsports have set a standard for others to follow. In 1995, legendary off-road racer Rod Hall became ORMHOF chairman, a position he held for more than twenty years, before selecting current chairman Mark McMillin as his successor.

The mission of the Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame is to educate and inspire present and future generations of the off-road community by celebrating the achievements of those who came before.  Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame inductees represent excellence and achievement in many areas of off-road, including advocacy, journalism, industry, rock sports, desert racing, short course, and rally.  

ORMHOF maintains a collection of vintage off-road vehicles that are displayed at museums around the country, as well as an extensive online archive of print, images, and videos, with more content added as funds become available.  The Hall of Fame Off-Road Registry invites clubs, organizations, events, businesses, and individuals with fifty years or more of history in off-road to apply for Hall of Fame heritage status in the official archives of the Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame. 

The Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame is funded through donations, individual memberships, and industry partners. A 501c non-profit organization, ORMHOF has earned a GuideStar Non-Profit Gold Seal of Transparency for 2023.

ORMHOF is guided by an all-volunteer board of leaders in the off-road community, including chairman Mark McMillin and board members Frank ‘Butch’ Arciero Jr, Dave Cole, Frank DeAngelo, Bud Feldkamp, Jeff Furrier, Bob Ham, Josh Hall, Gary Haugley, Rich Klein, Rafael Navarro III, Fardad Niknam, Bonnie Vessels, and Rory Ward.

Links to 2023 Gala tickets, discounted room rates, and Gala sponsorship opportunities are available on the 2023 Ceremony tab. We invite you to browse the ORMHOF online collections of print, images, and video, and to learn more about how to join, partner, or donate. Legends live at